Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The next general election will be held on Monday, October 18, 2021, when voters will elect County Council. Those elected in 2021 will serve a four-year term. Lac La Biche County will facilitate the Senate Election vote by issuing the senate election ballot to electors of Lac La Biche County, Beaver Lake Cree Nation and Heart Lake First Nation.  

County Council consists of 9 members, including a Mayor elected-at-large and 8 ward Councillors who represent 7 wards.  The Hamlet of Lac La Biche is represented by 2 Councillors. Order in Council 259/2017 establishes the ward boundaries for the County. Please click here to visit the "For Voters" section to view the ward boundaries and maps. 

The Local Authorities Election Act governs municipal elections.  This Act sets out rules and regulations for candidates, electors, donors and election administrators.  The Local Authorities Election Act (LAEA) is available from the Alberta Queen’s Printer.   

In addition to the Local Authorities Election Act, Lac La Biche County’s Election Bylaw sets out specific provisions for certain aspects of the election process.  Click here to view the Election Bylaw 20-037, and the amending Election Bylaw 21-017.

Key 2021 Election Dates

Campaign period                          January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021
Nomination Period                        January 1, 2021* – 12 Noon, September 20, 2021
Special Ballot Applications            Beginning August 1, 2021
Advance Voting                             To be determined
Election Day                                  October 18, 2021
Campaign Disclosure Statement   March 1, 2022 

Information for voters will become available as Election Day approaches.
You may reach County election staff by emailing election@laclabichecounty.com. 


For Voters

For Candidates

Hiring workers

List of Candidates

Third parties

 COVID safety protocols

senate election