LAC LA BICHE COUNTY REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING MCARTHUR PLACE, LAC LA BICHE

JANUARY 28, 2025-10:00 a.m.

Minutes of the Lac La Biche County Regular Council Meeting held January 28, 2025 at 10:00 a.m.

CALL TO ORDER Mayor Reutov called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

PRESENT	Paul Reutov	Mayor			
	John Mondal	Councillor			
	Darlene Beniuk	Councillor (<i>Departed at 2:04 p.m.</i>)			
	Kevin Paré	Councillor			
	Colette Borgun	Councillor			
	Lorin Tkachuk	Councillor			
	Charlyn Moore	Councillor			
	Jason Stedman	Councillor/Deputy Mayor (Participated			
		electronically)			
REGRETS	Sterling Johnson	Councillor			
STAFF IN	Manny Deol	Chief Administrative Officer			
ATTENDANCE	Ali Memon	General Manager, Infrastructure			
	Hafsah Moghrabi	General Manager, Corporate Services			
	Kashif Ijaz	General Manager, Strategy & Community			
		Growth			
	John Kokotilo	General Manager, Protective Services			
	Mackenzie Zilinski	Senior Executive Assistant			
	Heather Reid	Lead Legislative Officer			
	Danielle Patenaude	Legislative Officer			
ADODTION OF ACENDA					

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Councillor Mondal entered Council Chambers at 10:03 a.m. 25.013 MOVED To adopt the January 28, 2025 Regular Council Meeting Agenda as presented.

> In Favour (8): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Beniuk, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

CONSENT AGENDA

There were no items recommended for the consent agenda.

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

25.014

MOVED

To adopt the January 14, 2025 Regular Council Meeting minutes as presented.

In Favour (8): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Beniuk, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

NEW BUSINESS

8.1 Councillor Reports

Each Councillor in attendance presented their Councillor Reports which was received as information.

Councillor Tkachuk exited Council Chambers at 10:16 a.m. and returned at 10:18 a.m.

8.2 License of Occupation Request for Extended Term

Ms. Sheera Bourassa, Supervisor, Planning and Development presented the License of Occupation Request for Extended Term item and responded to questions.

25.015

MOVED

That Council directs Administration to enter into a five (5) year License of Occupation Agreement with the adjacent landowner of Lot R1, Block 1, Plan 7622120.

In Favour (7): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

Opposed (1): Councillor Beniuk

CARRIED

	8.3	2024 1	Federal	Fuel Charge and 2025 Budget Impact
	Ms. Hafsah Moghrabi, General Manager, Corporate Services presented th 2024 Federal Fuel Charge and 2025 Budget Impact item and responded to questions.			
	Counc same t	ed Council Chambers at 10:52 a.m. and returned at the		
	The 2024 Federal Fuel Charge and 2025 Budget Impact was receipinformation.			el Charge and 2025 Budget Impact was received as
RECESS	Mayor Reutov called a recess 10:53 a.m.			
RECONVENE	Mayor Reutov reconvened the meeting at 11:08 a.m. with all those Members of Council previously listed in attendance.			
NEW BUSINESS				
	8.4	8.4 Emergency Vehicle Operation Course (EVOC) – Tender Package		
	Mr. Ali Memon, General Manager, Infrastructure presented the Emergen Vehicle Operation Course (EVOC) – Tender Package item and responded to questions.			
	25.016	5	Vehic	Council approves of re-tendering the Emergency ele Operations Course Track in January 2025 as nted at the January 28, 2025 Regular Council
			In Favour (8): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Beniuk, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk	
				CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY
CLOSED SESSION	í I			
	25.017	7	MOVED To go into Closed Session at 11:17 a.m. in accordance with the following sections of the <i>Freedom and Information and</i> <i>Protection of Privacy (FOIP) Act</i> :	
			9.1	Committee Member Appointments (s.17-Disclosure harmful to personal privacy-FOIP and s.24-Advice from officials-FOIP)
			9.2	Financial and Operational Status of the Chief Administrative Office (s.17-Disclosure harmful to
January 28, 2025				3

personal privacy-FOIP and s.24-Advice from officials-FOIP)

In Favour (8): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Beniuk, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9.1 Committee Member Appointments (s.17- FOIP and s.24-FOIP)

The following Members of Administration were present for presentation and recording purposes: Manny Deol, Gary Harman, Hafsah Moghrabi, Heather Reid, Danielle Patenaude, Kashif Ijaz, Mackenzie Zilinski, Ali Memon, John Kokotilo, Randi Dupras and Chris Manuel.

Deputy Mayor Stedman exited the meeting at 11:24 a.m. and returned at 11:30 a.m.

9.2 Financial and Operational Status of the Chief Administrative Office (s.17-FOIP and s.24 -FOIP)

The following Members of Administration were present for presentation and recording purposes: Manny Deol, Gary Harman, Hafsah Moghrabi, Kashif Ijaz, Mackenzie Zilinski, Ali Memon, and John Kokotilo.

PUBLIC INPUT SESSION

7.2 12:00 p.m. Public Input Session

There was no one registered for the Public Input Session or in the lobby.

RECESS Mayor Reutov called a recess 12:29 p.m.

RECONVENE Mayor Reutov reconvened the meeting at 1:03 p.m. with all those Members of Council previously listed in attendance, except Councillor Beniuk.

9.2 Financial and Operational Status of the Chief Administrative Office (s.17-FOIP and s.24 -FOIP) continued

Councillor Beniuk returned to Council Chambers at 1:04 p.m.

The following Members of Administration were present for presentation and recording purposes: Manny Deol, Gary Harman, Hafsah Moghrabi, Kashif Ijaz, Mackenzie Zilinski, Ali Memon, John Kokotilo, Heather Reid, Danielle Patenaude, Randi Dupras and Chris Manuel.

Councillor Pare exited Council Chambers at 1:29 p.m. and returned at the same time.

RETURN TO REGULAR MEETING

25.018 MOVED To return to Open Session at 1:44 p.m.

> In Favour (8): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Beniuk, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9.2 Financial and Operational Status of the Chief Administrative Office

Discussion in Open Session ensued on this agenda item.

Councillor Beniuk departed the meeting at 2:04 p.m.

BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF CLOSED SESSION

- 9.1 Committee Member Appointments (s.17 and s.24-FOIP)
- 25.019 MOVED

To appoint Ken Warkentin to the Municipal Planning Commission effective January 29, 2025 to December 31, 2027, and in accordance with the Municipal Government Act, Mr. Warkentin's appointment to the SDAB ends January 28, 2025.

In Favour (7): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

25.020

MOVED

To appoint Todd Lamoureux to the Economic Development Advisory Committee Indigenous seat for a two-year term effective January 28, 2025 to January 28, 2027.

In Favour (7): Mayor Reutov, Councillor Borgun, Councillor Moore, Councillor Mondal, Councillor Paré, Deputy Mayor Stedman, and Councillor Tkachuk

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9.2 Financial and Operational Status of the Chief Administrative Office (s.17-FOIP and s.24-FOIP)

This item was received as information.

ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Reutov adjourned the Regular Council Meeting of January 28, 2025 at 2:37 p.m.

Paul Reutov, Mayor

Manny Deol, Chief Administrative Officer

January 28, 2025 Regular Council Meeting