LAC LA BICHE COUNTY

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

DATE: May 2, 2016 TIME: 1:30 p.m.

PLACE: Council Chambers

County Centre

AGENDA

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- 3. NEW BUSINESS
 - 3.1 RFD 2016 Property Taxation Bylaws Bylaw 16-013 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw Urban Service Area an Bylaw 16-014 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw Rural Service Area;
 - 3.2 RFD Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures.
- 4. ADJOURNMENT

LAC LA BICHE COUNTY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING COUNTY CENTRE, LAC LA BICHE

May 2, 2016 – 1:30 p.m.

Minutes of the Lac La Biche County Special Council Meeting held May 2, 2016 at 1:30 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER Mayor Moghrabi called the meeting to order at 1:37 p.m.

PRESENT	Omer Moghrabi	Mayor
	Chilci Michellian	IVIAVOI

Wanda Austin
Robert Richard
Councillor
Richard Olson
Councillor
David Phillips
Councillor
MJ Siebold
Tim Thompson
Hajar (Jerry) Haymour
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

John Nowak Councillor / Deputy Mayor

STAFF IN Shadia Amblie Chief Administrative Officer

ATTENDANCE Melanie McConnell Assistant Chief Administrative Officer

Dan Small Senior Manager, Finance & Grants (in part)

Joanne Onciul Legislative Services Coordinator

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion by Councillor Phillips to approve the May 2, 2016 Special Council Meeting agenda as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

NEW BUSINESS

3.1 RFD – 2016 Property Taxation Bylaws – Bylaw 16-013 – 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw – Urban Service Area an Bylaw 16-014 – 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw – Rural Service Area;

Mr. Dan Small, Senior Manager of Finance and Grants, introduced Mr. Zeeshan Hasan, Manager of Finance to all those in attendance.

Mr. Small handed-out and reviewed the Education Property Tax Alberta Fact Sheet and Lac La Biche County Comparative Municipal Tax Rates spreadsheet.

Discussion ensued regarding the proposed rates of taxation.

Bylaw 16-013 – 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw – Urban Service Area;

16.469 Motion by Councillor Haymour that Bylaw 16-013 be given first reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

OPPOSED
Mayor Moghrabi
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
CARRIED

16.470 Motion by Councillor Richard that Bylaw 16-013 be given second reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

OPPOSED
Mayor Moghrabi
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

CARRIED

In accordance with section 187(4) of the *Municipal Government Act*, "a proposed bylaw must not have more than 2 readings at a council meeting unless the councillors present unanimously agree to consider third reading".

Motion by Councillor Nowak that Bylaw 16-013 be submitted for third and final reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

OPPOSED
Mayor Moghrabi
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Siebold

DEFEATED

Bylaw 16-014 – 2016 Tax Rate Bylaw – Rural Service Area;

16.472 Motion by Councillor Nowak that Bylaw 16-014 be given first reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson

Councillor Haymour Councillor Nowak

CARRIED

16.473 Motion by Councillor Olson that Bylaw 16-014 be given second reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

OPPOSED
Mayor Moghrabi
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Siebold
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

CARRIED

In accordance with section 187(4) of the *Municipal Government Act*, "a proposed bylaw must not have more than 2 readings at a council meeting unless the councillors present unanimously agree to consider third reading".

Motion by Councillor Richard that Bylaw 16-014 be submitted for third and final reading this 2nd day of May, 2016.

IN FAVOUR
Councillor Austin
Councillor Richard
Councillor Olson
Councillor Phillips
Councillor Thompson
Councillor Haymour
Councillor Nowak

OPPOSED
Mayor Moghrabi
Councillor Siebold

Councillor Siebold

DEFEATED

Councillor Olson left Council Chambers at 2:22 p.m.

Councillor Olson returned to Council Chambers at 2:22 p.m.

NEW BUSINESS

3.2 RFD – Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures.

Councillor Thompson left Council Chambers at 2:27 p.m.

Councillor Nowak left Council Chambers at 2:27 p.m.

Councillor Thompson returned to Council Chambers at 2:28 p.m.

Councillor Nowak returned to Council Chambers at 2:28 p.m.

Ms. Melanie McConnell, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer reviewed the proposed changes to Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures.

RECESS

Mayor Moghrabi called a recess at 2:45 p.m.

RECONVENE

Mayor Moghrabi reconvened the meeting at 3:01 p.m. with all those Members of Council previously listed in attendance.

NEW BUSINESS

3.2 RFD – Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures (continued).

Councillor Olson left Council Chambers at 3:16 p.m.

Councillor Olson returned to Council Chambers at 3:16 p.m.

Councillor Thompson left Council Chambers at 3:23 p.m.

Councillor Thompson returned to Council Chambers at 3:25 p.m.

Councillor Nowak left Council Chambers at 3:36 p.m.

Councillor Nowak returned to Council Chambers at 3:37 p.m.

Discussion ensued regarding the proposed Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures. Council proposed the following change to the bylaw:

Members Debating, Section 17 – continue with open discussions with reasonable time allowed for debate. Remove from proposed bylaw that each member is permitted to speak twice to a motion, for two minutes each time.

Mayor Moghrabi left Council Chambers at 3:55 p.m. Deputy Mayor Nowak assumed the Chair.

Mayor Moghrabi returned to Council Chambers at 3:55 p.m. and resumed the Chair.

- 3.2 RFD Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures (continued).
- Motion by Councillor Phillips that Bylaw 16-007 Council Meeting Procedures be brought forward with the proposed changes as discussed in Council, to the May 10, 2016 Regular Council Meeting.

CARRIED UNANIOUSLY

ADJOURNMENT

16.476 Motion by Councillor Thompson to adjourn the Special Council Meeting of May 2, 2016 at 3:56 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Omer Moghrabi, Mayor
 Shadia Amblie
Chief Administrative Officer